Celebrating National Fair Housing Month

Having a roof over your head is more than something to be thankful for — it's your right. As you move through life and pursue your goals, it's vital that you have a safe and stable place to live, regardless of your race, religion, sex, or any other factors. That's why the Fair Housing Act was created and also why we celebrate Fair Housing Month each April. Knowing how the law impacts you and others will not only help to end housing discrimination but also perpetuate the growth of sustainable, thriving communities across the country. What is the Fair Housing Act? The Fair Housing Act was passed on April 11, 1968, just one week after the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. The law was born out of a need to provide housing access to all Americans, especially minorities such as African Americans and Hispanics, who, at the time, were prevented from purchasing or renting homes in certain areas due to their race or national origins. The passage of the Fair Housing Act was a significant victory for American civil rights, and today it continues to protect people from discrimination when buying, renting, or selling a home. More specifically, the law prohibits discrimination from any party on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disability. In other words, when it comes to housing, no one can be treated differently based on their association with one of the protected classes.

What is the Fair Housing Act? Whether you're buying, renting, or selling a home, there are rights and responsibilities for everyone involved. This includes you, the seller or landlord, the mortgage lender, the real estate agent, and anyone else who's a part of the process.

*Based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disability.

Below are several actions that the law prohibits. For a full list, visit HUD.gov. In the sale or rental of a home:

  • Refusing to rent or sell

  • Making housing unavailable or denying a dwelling

  • Setting different terms, conditions or privileges for a sale or rental

  • Falsely denying that housing is available for inspection, sale, or rental

  • Discriminating against families with one or more children under 18 living in the household

In mortgage lending

  • Refusing to make a mortgage loan

  • Refusing to provide information regarding loans

  • Imposing different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points, or fees

Equal Opportunity for All We are committed to providing equal housing opportunities for everyone. When you work with us, we'll do our best to help you achieve your goals of homeownership by helping you find home financing that's right for you.


You Might Also Like:

Powered by Ellie Mae.


© 2021 Vibrant Living Newsletter. All Rights Reserved.